Royal Society of Chemistry Awards

Analyst Emerging Investigator Lectureship

This lectureship was launched as a platform for an early career analytical scientist to raise the profile of the analytical sciences to the wider scientific community and general public. The candidates were asked to submit an original essay of no more than 1000 words highlighting the significant and wide-reaching impact on scientific and societal issues related to this year’s theme of health in the analytical sciences. The awardee receives up to £2000 contribution towards travel and accommodation costs to attend and present a lecture based on their research at a leading international meeting. Their essay will also be published as a Perspective article in Analyst.

2016 Lectureship Recipient,Patrick Hayes

Université de MontréaPatrick Hayes is Assistant Professor of the Atmospheric and Analytical Chemistry Group at the Université de Montréal since Summer 2013. He obtained his PhD in Analytical Chemistry at Northwestern University, USA. His postdoctoral CIRES fellowship was performed at the University of Colorado. His research group focusses on the chemistry of atmospheric aerosols and the study of fundamental chemical and physical interactions occurring at solid/liquid interfaces important to the environment. He has more than 30 peer-reviewed publications, and has given more than 20 oral presentations, including 7 invited lectures. He has also served as a Member of the Board of Directors for the Environmental Division of the Chemical Institute of Canada.l


Royal Society of Chemistry Theophilus Redwood Award
The Theophilus Redwood Award is given to a leading analytical scientist who is also an outstanding communicator.  This year’s winner is Duncan Graham from the University of Strathclyde for innovation and leadership in exploiting surface enhanced Raman spectroscopy in the analytical community.

2016 Redwood Recipient, Duncan Graham

Duncan Graham is Research Professor of Chemistry and Deputy Head of Department for Pure and Applied Chemistry at the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow having being appointed there as a lecturer in 2002 and then to a chair in 2004. 

He is currently Chair of the Editorial Board of Analyst and president elect of the Analytical Division of the Royal Society of Chemistry.  He serves on the advisory boards of Chemical Society Reviews, Chemical Science, Journal of Raman Spectroscopy, the Journal of Biomedical Spectroscopy and Imaging and the new Cell Press journal, Chem.  He has been a co-chair of the Raman program for SciX since 2013 and in 2016 took over as the RSC representative for FACSS from John Chalmers. 

He has been awarded numerous awards for his research including the RSCs SAC Silver medal (2004), Nexxus Young Life Scientist of the year (2005), Corday Morgan prize (2009), a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit award (2010), the Craver Award from the Coblentz Society (2012), Fellows Award from the Society for Applied Spectroscopy (2012) and was elected to the fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (2008). 

He has published over 200 papers and graduated over 50 PhD students. He is a cofounder and director of Renishaw Diagnostics Ltd (2007) which now has 42 FTE and has a CE marked SERS based diagnostic now available for use in European hospitals. He completed a PhD in organic chemistry at the University of Edinburgh (1996) and his interests are in developing new diagnostic assays based on nanoparticles and spectroscopy with target molecules including DNA, RNA, proteins and small molecule biomarkers.

 Previous winners of the award:

2015 – R Van Duyne
2014 – E Williams
2013 – J Caruso
2012 – S McLuckey
2011 – A Turner
2010 – P Bohn
2009 – J Vickerman
2008/9 – F Marken
2008 - J K Nicholson
2007 - J V Sweedler
2006 - R G Brereton
2005 - R Zenobi
2004 - M B Denton
2003 - S J B Tendler
2002 - R P Evershed
2001 - D Littlejohn
2000 - P J Worsfold
1999 - U A Th Brinkman
1998 - A Manz
1997 - J M Mermet
1996 - M V Novotny
1995 - M Thompson
1994 - J G Graselli
1993 - G Eglinton
1992 - A Hulanicki
1991 - J N Miller
1990 - J H Purnell
1989 - B R Kowalski
1988 - A Townshend
1987 - A M Ure
1986 - G M Hieftje
1985 - A Grasserbauer
1984 - R L Williams
1983 - G Nickless
1982 - D T Burns
1981 - J D Winefordner