The ANACHEM Award was established in 1953 and is presented annually to an outstanding analytical chemist based on activities in teaching, research, administration or other activity which has advanced the art and science of the field. The Award was presented as a part of the Anachem Conference through 1972. After 1972, the ANACHEM Award has been presented at the national meeting presented by FACSS as a part of a special symposium comprising a group of invited speakers. The ANACHEM award will be presented at the SciX meeting. More details on the award are available from ANACHEM.

2021 ANACHEM Award Recipient

Mark E. Meyerhoff is currently Philip J. Elving Professor of Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. He received his Ph.D. from the State University of New York at Buffalo in 1979, working with Professor Garry A. Rechnitz. Following a short post-doctoral stint at the University of Delaware (also with Prof. G. A. Rechnitz), he joined the faculty at Michigan as an Assistant Professor in the Fall of 1979. He was promoted to associate professor in 1985, and to full professor in 1990.

Professor Meyerhoff’s primary research interests are in the field of analytical chemistry, particularly the development of new ion-, gas-, and bio-selective electrochemical/optical sensors suitable for direct measurements of clinically important analytes in physiological samples. He also has a very active research program in the area of biomaterials, especially the development and characterization of novel nitric oxide (NO) releasing/generating polymeric materials for biomedical applications. These advanced NO release materials are being examined as potent antithrombotic and bactericidal coatings for a wide range of medical devices. He and his collaborators have authored more than 390 original research papers on these and other topics over the past 41 years since beginning his independent academic career at Michigan.

Professor Meyerhoff received the University of Michigan’s Faculty Recognition Award in 1990, the ACS-Division of Analytical Chemistry Award in Electrochemistry in 2003, the Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry’s Reilley Award in 2006, the University of Michigan’ Outstanding Graduate Mentoring Award in 2006, the University of Michigan’s Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award in 2011, the Ralph Adams Award in Bioanalytical Chemistry from the Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry in 2014, the ACS Award in Analytical Chemistry in 2020, and the Association of Analytical Chemistry ANACHEM award in 2021.


Nominations for the future ANACHEM awards should be submitted to the current president of the ANACHEM organizations. Contacts details can be found on the ANACHEM website.

past recipients

2020 Gary Blanchard

2019 Robert Kennedy

2018 Susan M. Lunte

2017 Jennifer Brodbelt - Interview with Spectroscopy

2016 Paul Cremer - Interview with Spectroscopy

2015 Jonathan V. Sweedler - Interview with Spectroscopy

2014 David E. Clemmer - interview with Spectroscopy

2013 Norman Dovichi

2012 Peter R. Griffiths

2011 Robert B. 'Chip' Cody

2010 Marc D. Porter

2009 E. Neil Lewis

2008 Scott A. McLuckey

2007 Isiah Warner

2006 Richard D. Sacks

2005 Mary J. Wirth

2004 Walter Jennings

2003 Catherine Fenselau

2002 Bruce Chase

2001 Chuck Sweeley

2000 R. Sam Houk

1999 Steve Stein

1998 Lloyd Snyder

1997 Michael Morris

1996 James Jorgenson

1995 George G. Stafford

1994 Joseph A. Caruso

1993 Richard Nyquist

1992 Milos V. Novotny

1991 Ben S. Freiser

1990 Janet Osteryoung

1989 Harry L. Pardue

1988 Walter Slavin

1987 Howard Malmstadt

1986 Henry Freiser

1985 Fred M. McLafferty

1984 Gary Hieftje

1983 Roger Bates

1982 James Shoolery

1981 Walter McCrone

1980 James D. Winefordner

1979 J.J. Kirkland

1978 Jeanette Grasselli

1977 Richard Hahn

1976 John Vandenbelt

1975 David F. Boltz

1974 John Mitchell, Jr.

1973 Rosalyn Yallow

1972 Charles Reilly

1971 Velmer Fassel

1970 Vernon Stenger

1969 Sidney Siggia

1968 Eugene Sawicki

1967 Ralph G. Smith

1966 Harvey Kiehl

1965 John Hague

1964 Lawrence Hallett

1963 A.A. Benedetti-Pichler

1962 Paul K. Winter

1961 I. M. Kolthoff

1960 Harry A. Bright

1959 G. Frederick Smith

1958 Charles Gambrill

1957 Philip J. Elving

1956 William Fredrick

1955 No Awardee

1954 M.G. Mellon

1953 Hobart H. Willard

The Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies (FACSS) and the SciX Conference organizers are dedicated to providing a professional, pleasant and harassment-free conference experience for everyone. View the full Code of Conduct. 

©2020 FACSS Analytical Science and Innovation | (856) 224-4266  
is  an exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software