Lester W. Strock Award

The Lester W. Strock Award is given by the New England Section of the Society of Applied Spectroscopy in recognition of a selected publication of substantive research in/or application of analytical atomic spectrochemistry in the fields of earth science, life sciences, or stellar and cosmic sciences. More details on the award are available from the Society for Applied Spectroscopy.

2014 Recipient of the Lester W. Strock Award - Steven Ray

Interview with Steven Ray by Spectroscopy Magazine

Steven Ray is currently an Associate Scientist and member of the Graduate Faculty in the Department of Chemistry at Indiana University, where he works in the Laboratory for Spectrochemistry. Steven received his undergraduate degree (B.S.-Chemistry) from Hope College in Holland, MI, and his Ph.D. from Indiana University in 2003 working under the tutelage of Professor Gary Hieftje.  While completing his thesis work, Dr. Ray also served as the Senior Mass Spectrometrist for the Indiana University Department of Chemistry.  Dr. Ray’s research interests focus on novel aspects of analytical instrumentation, including atomic spectroscopy, plasma spectrochemistry, and mass spectrometry.  In particular, Dr. Ray has been active in the development of new types of mass spectrometry instrumentation, including the development of time-of-flight mass spectrometry for elemental analysis.  Steven was part of the research group recognized with the 2011 R&D100 award for the development of a monolithic semiconductor ion detector for mass spectrometry.  Dr. Ray and his collaborators also received the 2013 Ron Hites Award recognizing the best manuscript published in the Journal of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry. Most recently, Dr. Ray has been working on the development of Distance-of-Flight Mass Spectrometry and has also been active in the development of novel ionization sources for mass spectrometry.  Steven has been active within the SAS and FACSS, serving as SciX Program Chair and currently serves as the FACSS Governing Board Chair-Elect.  Dr. Ray has published approximately 75 manuscripts and book chapters, and holds 8 patents. He currently serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Analytical Atomic Spectrometry and the editorial advisory boards of Spectrochimica Acta, Part B and Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry.  


Previous Lester Strock Award Winners

1980 John P. Walters
1981 David M. Hercules
1982 Charles Wilkins
1983 M. Barber, R.S. Bardoli, R. D. Sedgwick, A.N. Tyler
1984 Gary M. Hieftje, Stanley B. Smith, Jr.
1985 C.R. Blakley, M.L. Vestal
1986 Robert S. Houck, Velmer A. Fassell, Gerald D. Flesch, Harry J. Svec, Alan L. Gray, Charles E. Taylor
1987 Richard Sacks, J.M. Goldberg, R.J. Collins, S.Y. Suh
1988 Thomas C. O'Haver
1989 Gary Horlick, Martha A. Vaughn, S.H. Tan
1990 Edward S. Yeung
1991 M. Bonner Denton
1992 G. Hieftje
1993 Willard W. Harrison
1994 Richard F. Browner, Guangxuan Zhu
1995 Michael D. Morris
1996 Richard A. Keller
1997 Therese M. Cotton
1998 Sandford Asher
1999 D. Bruce Chase
2000 Max Diem
2001 John Olesik
2002 Julian Tyson
2003 Ramon Barnes
2004 James D. Winefordner
2005 Richard Russo
2006 Paul Farnsworth
2007 Detlef Günther
2008 Annemie Bogaerts
2009 Nico Omenetto
2010 Kay Niemax
2011 David W. Hahn
2012 Ralph Sturgeon - Interview with Sturgeon
2013 Richard Russo -  Interview with Russo