award interviews with spectroscopy

SciX - FACSS Awards Interview Series produced by Spectroscopy Magazine


2019 FACSS Charles Mann Awardee for Applied Raman Spectroscopy - Karen Faulds

Recent advances in Raman spectroscopy, specifically using surface enhanced spatially offset resonance Raman spectroscopy (SESORRS), which is a combination of surface enhanced Raman scattering (SERS), and spatially offset Raman spectroscopy (SORS) are enabling noninvasive, real-time measurements of living tissue and multiple bacterial pathogens. In an interview with Karen Faulds, the 2019 recipient of the FACSS Charles Mann Award for Applied Raman Spectroscopy, we explore the latest developments in Raman spectroscopy for biomedical analysis applications. This interview is part of a series of interviews with the winners of awards presented at the SciX conference.

Read interview

2019 Lester W. Strock Award - S. Michael Angel 

Spectroscopy can be difficult to carry out outside a controlled laboratory environment. Imagine, then, the hurdles that would accompany performing spectroscopy in the extreme conditions of deep space or the ocean floor. Mike Angel, a professor of chemistry at the University of South Carolina, has taken on those challenges, working on new types of instruments for remote and in- situ laser spectroscopy, with a focus on deep-ocean, planetary, and homeland security applications of deep ultraviolet (UV), Raman and laser-induced breakdown spectroscopy (LIBS), to develop the tools necessary to work within these extreme environments. A key development is the spatial heterodyne Raman spectrometer, a fixed grating Fourier transform Raman spectrometer. For this development and other work, Angel has been awarded the Lester W. Strock Award from The New England section of the Society of Applied Spectroscopy, in recognition of a selected publication of substantive research in, or application of, analytical atomic spectrochemistry in the fields of earth science, life sciences, or stellar and cosmic sciences.

Read Interview.

2019 Coblentz Society Craver Award Recipient - Xiaoyun "Shawn" Chen 

The Clara Craver award, awarded annually since 2006 by the Coblentz Society, was named after Craver in recognition of her pioneering efforts in promoting the practice of infrared vibrational spectroscopy and her many years of service to the Coblentz Society. The award recognizes the efforts of young professional spectroscopists and their contributions in applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy. The 2019 recipient, Xiaoyun (Shawn) Chen, is a senior research scientist working in the Core R&D Analytical Sciences department of the Dow Chemical Company. Chen has been leading Dow’s global optical spectroscopy technology network since 2013, and also the molecular structure capability since 2016. Through his work at Dow sites around the world, Chen not only helps solve a broad range of problems and improve many different types of R&D and production processes, but also has the joy of introducing many colleagues, such as process engineers and synthetic chemists, to the benefits of spectroscopy for their applications.

Read interview.

2019 Applied Spectroscopy William F. Meggers Award – Timothy J. Johnson

Modeling, rather than measuring infrared (IR) and other spectra in order to account for morphological forms that may be encountered for solids as well as substances that incorporate at least one liquid phase, including bulk mixtures, aerosols, thin films on substrates and others, has become the technique of choice, compared to measuring. Timothy J. Johnson and Tanya L. Myers, the 2019 winners of the Applied Spectroscopy William F. Meggers Award, have been exploring novel methods using infrared (IR) and visible reflectance spectroscopies for identification of target chemicals through derivation of the n and k optical constants. For their winning paper, Johnson and Myers created a spectroscopic library of 57 liquids for which they measured the complex refractive index, data that can be used for optical modeling and other purposes. They shared some of the details of their work with Spectroscopy.

Read Interview.

2019 AES Mid-Career Award – Christopher Easley   

In biology and medical research in areas such as the study of insulin, achieving greater temporal resolution and lower detection limits is critical. Christopher Easley, of Auburn University, and the winner of 2019 American Electrophoresis Society (AES) Mid-Career Award, is working to address this challenge.

Read Interview.

2019 Ellis R. Lippincott Award – Ji-Xin Cheng  

Significant progress is being made to harness the power of spectroscopy techniques for medical research. An ongoing challenge, and area of development, in this effort, is to “see” more and more detail about biological activity, even within individual cells. Ji-Xin Cheng, a professor of biomedical engineering at Boston University, is advancing such work by developing techniques like midinfrared photothermal (MIP) imaging and Raman spectromicroscopy. Cheng is the 2019 winner of the Ellis R. Lippincott Award, which is awarded annually by the Optical Society, the Coblentz Society, and the Society for Applied Spectroscopy, to an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of vibrational spectroscopy. Here, Cheng speaks to us about those techniques.

Read interview.


2018 FACSS Charles Mann Awardee for Applied Raman Spectroscopy - Andrew Whitley       

In many areas of spectroscopy, scientists working at instrument companies often make valuable contributions, by advancing the practical application of techniques and by educating customers. Andrew Whitley of Horiba Scientific, is one such scientist. He works diligently to identify potential new areas for Raman applications, and als o dedicates much of his time to educating spectroscopists and new users to the field about the benefits of using Raman spectroscopy. Here, Whitley discusses his continued interest in spectroscopy, his role educating others, and his hope for the future of Raman spectroscopy. Based on his work, he received the 2018 Charles Mann Award. This interview is part of a series of interviews with the winners of awards presented at SciX

Read interview.

2018 Lester W. Strock Award - Javier Laserna 

As the use of nanoparticles in a wide range of applications continues to increase, the need for techniques to analyze these particles also grows. Javier Laserna of the University of Málaga, in Spain, has developed an approach to measure individual nanoparticles in air using optical trapping (OT) combined with laser-induced breakdown spectroscopy (LIBS). Laserna received the 2018 Lester W. Strock award for this development as well as his broader research on analytical methods and instrumentation using LIBS. He recently spoke to us about this work.

Read interview. 


The Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies (FACSS) and the SciX Conference organizers are dedicated to providing a professional, pleasant and harassment-free conference experience for everyone. View the full Code of Conduct. 

©2020 FACSS Analytical Science and Innovation | (856) 224-4266  
is  an exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software