Ellis R. Lippincott Award

The Ellis R. Lippincott Award is awarded annually to recognize an individual that has made significant contributions to the field of vibrational spectroscopy. The award was jointly established in 1975 by The Optical Society of America, The Coblentz Society, and The Society for Applied Spectroscopy to honor the unique contributions of Professor Ellis R. Lippincott. Among other contributions, Professor Lippincott was one of the developers of the diamond anvil cell which is widely employed used in high pressure research, and because innovation was a hallmark of Lippincott's work, this quality must also be demonstrated by candidates for the award. For more information on the Lippincott Award, go to https://sites.google.com/a/coblentz.org/coblentz/awards/the-lippincott-award

2013 Recipient - Xiaoliang Sunney Xie

Xiaoliang Sunney Xie (born 1962 in Beijing, China) is the Mallinckrodt Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology at Harvard University. Xie is considered a founding father of single-molecule enzymology. He has also made major contributions to biomedical imaging by developing CARS microscopy. Xie received a B.S. in chemistry from Peking University, followed by his Ph.D. in 1990 from the University of California at San Diego. He conducted postdoctoral research at the University of Chicago and in 1992 joined Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, where he later became a Chief Scientist. In 1999, he became the first full professor at Harvard University from the People's Republic of China. Among the first to conduct fluorescence studies of single molecules at room temperature in the early 1990s, his research group has contributed to the emergence of the field of single-molecule biophysical chemistry and its application to biology. His work focuses on single-molecule enzymology, protein conformational dynamics, and the study of gene expression and regulation in living cells. His group also pioneered CARS microscopy and stimulated Raman scattering microscopy, sensitive biomedical 


Previous Lippincott Award Winners
1976 Richard Lord (SAS)
1977 Lionel J. Bellamy (Coblentz)
1978 Bryce L. Crawford (OSA)
1979 E. Bright Wilson (SAS)
1980 George C. Pimentel (Coblentz)
1981 Ian M. Mills (OSA)
1982 Michael Delhays (SAS)
1983 John Overend (Coblentz)
1984 Jon Hougen (OSA)
1985 Ira W. Levin (SAS)
1986 Wolfgang Kaiser (Coblentz)
1987 C. Bradley Moore (OSA)
1988 Andreas Albrecht (SAS)
1989 Marilyn Jacox (Coblentz)
1990 Robert W. Field (OSA)
1991 No Award Given
1992 Richard Saykally (SAS)
1993 John Rabolt (Coblentz)
1994 Herbert L. Strauss (OSA)
1995 Giocinto Scoles (SAS)
1996 Giuseppe Zerbi (Coblentz)
1997 Robin Hochstrasser (OSA)
1998 Takeshi Oka (SAS)
1999 Mitsuo Tasumi (Coblentz)
2000 Donald Levy (OSA)
2001 W. Lester S. Andrews (SAS)
2002 Sanford A. Asher (Coblentz)
2003 Shaul Mukamel (OSA)
2004 Richard Mathies (SAS)
2005 Jaan Laane (Coblentz)
2006 Hai-Lung Dai (OSA)
2007 Jonathon Tennyson (SAS)
2008 Richard P. Van Duyne (Coblentz)
2009 Michael D. Fayer (OSA)
2010 Martin Moskovits (SAS)
2011 Isao Noda (Coblentz)
2012 Keith Olson (OSA)
2013 Xiaoliang Sunney Xie (SAS)
2014 Andrei Tokmakoff (Coblentz)
2015 Dana D. Dlott  (OSA)