ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award

AWARD IN CHEMICAL INSTRUMENTATION - 2013 Recipient - Charles L. Wilkins
Sponsored by Dow Chemical

Advancing the field of chemical instrumentation through achievement of one or more of the following:
- Conceptualization and development of unique instrumentation that has made a significant impact on the field.
- Demonstration of innovative use of instrumentation in chemical measurement.
- Stimulation of other researchers to use instrumentation in chemical measurement.
- Authorship of research papers or books that have had an influential role in the use of chemical instrumentation.

This Award consists of a plaque and $2500. The latter may be used to help defray travel expenses associated with the recipient's participation in the Division's award ceremony (typically held at the ACS fall National Meeting each year) which are not covered separately by the Division.

Charles Wilkins, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Arkansas, has been awarded the 2013 American Chemical Society Division of Analytical Chemistry Award in Chemical Instrumentation, sponsored by the Dow Chemical Company. The award recognizes Wilkins for his contributions to a broad range of analytical instrumentation techniques that have been documented  in over 300 publications in Analytical Chemistry, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Journal of Physical Chemistry and many other books and journals.  He has also authored and or co-edited nine books covering a variety of analytical instrumentation methods. These publications have been cited extensively in the chemical literature and include a dozen papers cited more than 100 times each and a lifetime total of over 7,000 citations.

Wilkins is distinguished by his leading contributions in a wide range of analytical instrumentation, including advances in Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy, FT- nuclear magnetic resonance spectrometry, ion cyclotron resonance mass spectrometry and computerized laboratory data  acquisition and analysis. He has primarily been recognized for his contributions to the development of “hyphenated” instrument approaches to couple distinct types of instrumentation for analytical purposes. He was the first to combine GC-infrared and mass spectrometry into a single analysis system and also was a leader in the combination of HPLC analysis and nuclear magnetic resonance, in ways that  opened the current use of HPLC-NMR for metabolomics studies. His work, in collaboration with Michael Gross, also pioneered  the use of ICR-mass spectrometry for analytical applications,

Wilkins has served in numerous professional capacities, including terms both as Chair of the Analytical Chemistry Division  and Chair of the Computers in Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society. He also was Chair of the Department of Chemistry at the University of California, Riverside for seven years.  He served on the Advisory Board of the National Center for Toxicological Research of the FDA and has served on many other advisory boards and panels.  Wilkins also serves on the editorial advisory boards of numerous journals, among them Mass Spectrometry Reviews, Applied Spectroscopy Reviews,  and, previously, two terms on the Analytical Chemistry editorial board. He is a Contributing Editor of Trends in Analytical Chemistry, and serves as Associate Editor of International Journal of Analytical Chemistry.

Wilkins has received awards and honors throughout his career, including designation as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, as a Fellow of the American Chemical Society, and as a Fellow of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy. Honors include the Lester Strock Award of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy in 1982, the Tolman Medal of the Southern California Section of the American Chemical Society in 1993, and the Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award, in 1994. In 1996 he was awarded the Gold Medal Award of the New York Section of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy and in 1997 the American Chemical Society Franklin & Field Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry. More recent honors include the 2002 Eastern Analytical Symposium Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry, the 2003 University of Arkansas Alumni Faculty Distinguished Achievement Award for research, and in 2004 the University of Oregon Department of Chemistry Alumni Achievement Award,  Distinguished Awardee in  Pure Science. In 2009 there was publication of a Special Issue of the International Journal of Mass Spectrometry in honor of Charles Wilkins.

1955 - R. Bowling Barnes
1956 - Harold H. Washburn
1957 - Ralph H. Mueller
1958 - Maurice F. Hasler
1959 - Howard Cary
1960 - (No award given)
1961 - Marcel J. E. Golay
1962 - Howard K Schachman
1963 - Howard V. Malmstadt
1964 - Robert Homer Cherry
1965 - James N. Shoolery
1966 - Leonard T. Skeggs
1967 - Robert L. Bowman
1968 - J. Raynor Churchill
1969 - Dale J. Fisher
1970 - Norman D. Coggeshall
1971 - Fred W. McLafferty
1972 - Edward B. Baker
1973 - Jack W. Frazer
1974 - Christie G. Enke
1975 - Myron T. Kelley
1976 - (No award given)
1977 - (No award given)
1978 - James D. Winefordner
1979 - John P. Walters
1980 - Donald E. Smith
1981 - Jon Amy
1982 - Harry L. Pardue
1983 - Velmer A. Fassel
1984 - R. Graham Cooks
1985 - Gary M. Hieftje
1986 - Fred E. Lytle
1987 - Edward S. Yeung
1988 - Milos Novotny
1989 - M. Bonner Denton
1990 - Alan G. Marshall
1991 - Joel Harris
1992 - James W. Jorgensen
1993 - R. Samuel Houk
1994 - R. Mark Wightman
1995 - Richard Zare
1996 - Norman J. Dovichi
1997 - Donald Hunt
1998 - Milton L. Lee
1999 - Joseph Wang
2000 - John B. Fenn
2001 - Stanley Crouch
2002 - Jonathan Sweedler
2003 - J. Michael Ramsey
2004 - Daniel Jed Harrison
2005 - Lloyd M. Smith
2006 - Andrew Ewing
2007 - Scott McLuckey
2008 - Gary Horlick
2009 - Robert J. Cotter
2010 - Richard A. Mathies
2011 - Steven Soper
2012 - David Clemmer
2013 - Charles Wilkins


All nominations must be received by November 1 of each year. They must be sent to the Division of Analytical Chemistry Office. The immediate past chairperson of the Division shall in turn transmit the nominations to the chairpersons of the appropriate juries. Nominations that are unsuccessful will be retained for jury consideration for the following three years, but may be updated if the nominator wishes.

These rules are extracted and paraphrased from the complete guidelines, which are available from the Division Chair. However, they are sufficient to prepare a proper nomination for consideration by the appropriate award jury.