FACSS & SciX Conference Officers

SciX 2019 Officers for Palm Springs

The 2019 SciX Team is responsible for planning, organizing, and running the 2018 North American annual meeting presented by FACSS. This team joins the ranks of previous officers and team members who have successfully served FACSS and its meetings since the founding of FACSS in 1973. Starting in 2009, the overall responsibility for the conference rests with the General Chair. Each of the other SciX chairs is responsible for organizing one of the cornerstones of the meeting and reports to the General Chair.

Contact information for these individuals can be found in the details below.

Mark Hayes, Arizona State University - SciX General Chair SciX 2019
Garth Simpson, Purdue University - SciX Program Chair SciX 2019
Michael Carrabba, SciX Exhibits Chair 2006 - 2020
Robert Chimenti, RVC Photonics / Rowan University - SciX Workshops Chair
John Wasylyk, Bristol-Myers Squibb - SciX / FACSS Marketing Chair 2017-2019
Christopher Harrison, San Diego State University - SciX 2019 Local Chair

FACSS Executive Officers

Each Executive Officer of the FACSS organization is an unpaid volunteered who has been duly elected to serve by the FACSS Governing Board. The Executive Officers' role is to advise the Governing Board on policy, shall study and recommend action on proposals, and shall assume the responsibility for the governance and welfare of the FACSS organization in the interim between Governing Board meetings. The Governing Board Chairperson runs the Governing Board meetings that are held twice each year, at the SciX meeting presented by FACSS in the fall and at PittCon in the spring. The past governing board chairpersons bring their experience to the meetings and help guide FACSS through the years of their term, which is eight years including their years as chair-elect, chair, past-chair and past-past-chair roles.

Contact information for these individuals can be found in the details below.


Fred LaPlant – 2018 and 2019 Governing Board Chair
Christopher Palmer - 2020 and 2021 Governing Board Chair Elect
Steve Ray – 2016 and 2017 Governing Board Chair
Greg Klunder – 2014 and 2015 Governing Board Chair
Glen Jackson – 2017 to 2019 Secretary 
Ian Lewis – 2019 to 2021 Treasurer

 

Mark Hayes, Arizona State University
General Chair 2019

Email: mhayes@asu.edu

 

Garth Simpson, Purdue University
Program Chair SciX 2019

Email: gsimpson@purdue.edu

 

Mike Carrabba
Exhibit Chair SciX 2019

E-mail: mcarrabba@rrslabs.com

 
 
Robert Chimenti, RVC Photonics / Rowan University
Workshops Chair

Email: rchimenti82@gmail.com

 
 
 
John Wasylyk, Bristol-Myers Squibb
Marketing Chair 2017-2019

Email: john.wasylyk@bms.com

 
 
Christopher Harrison, San Diego State University
SciX 2019 Local Chair

Email: charrison@sdsu.edu

 

Fred LaPlant, 3M Corporate Research Analytical Laboratory
FACSS Governing Board Chair 2018 and 2019
 

  Christopher Palmer, University of Montana
FACSS Governing Board Chair Elect 2020 and 2021
 
 
Steve Ray, SUNY at Buffalo
FACSS Governing Board Chair 2016 and 2017

Email: SJRAY2@buffalo.edu

 
 

Greg Klunder, LLNL
FACSS Governing Board Chair 2014 and 2015

E-mail: klunder@llnl.gov

 

Glen Jackson, West Virginia University
FACSS Secretary 2017-2019

E-mail: glen.jackson@mail.wvu.edu

 

Ian Lewis, Kaiser Optical Systems, Inc.
FACSS Treasurer 2019 - 2021

E-mail: ian.lewis@kosi.endress.com