Coblentz Society Craver Award

The Coblentz Society has created an award to recognize young individuals who have made significant contributions in applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy. 

The Craver Award honoring Clara Craver is presented annually to an outstanding young molecular spectroscopist whose efforts are in the area of applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy. Clara Craver was the editor of the Coblentz Desk reference and other subsequent libraries that later became databases of infrared spectra that is the foundation for the application of modern vibrational spectroscopy.  Her efforts resulted in the creation of the endowment that supports the Coblentz Society and many of the awards that it gives out annually. The candidate must be under the age of 45 on January 1st of the year of the award. The work may include any aspect of infrared (NIR, MIR, or Far), and/or THz, and/or Raman spectroscopy in applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy. The nominees may come from an academic, government lab, or industrial backgrounds. Click here for information on the Coblentz Society Craver Award.


2017 Coblentz Society Craver Award Recipient
Martin Zanni, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Martin T. Zanni is the Meloche-Bascom Professor of Chemistry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He received his PhD from the University of California-Berkeley, working with Dan Neumark, and was an NIH Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Pennsylvania with Robin Hochstrasser. He is one of the earliest innovators in 2D IR spectroscopy and has made many technological innovations in 2D IR, 2D Visible, and 2D SFG spectroscopy that has broadened the capabilities and scope of multidimensional spectroscopies. He utilizes these new spectroscopies to study topics in biophysics, chemical physics, photovoltaics, and surface science. He has received many national and international accolades for his research, including the Research Initiatives Award from the National Academy of Sciences for his work in optics, the Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize from Tel Aviv University for his work in multidimensional spectroscopy, and the Early Career Scholar Award from the NIH/NIDDK for his work on Type 2 diabetes. He founded PhaseTech Spectroscopy Inc., which is the first company to commercialize 2D IR and 2D Visible spectroscopies.

Spectroscopy Interview with Martin Zanni


The Coblentz Society announces its solicitation of nominations for the 2017 Craver Award in recognition of young investigators in applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy. Nominations for the 2017 award are accepted until August 30, 2016 and must include a detailed description of the nominee's accomplishments, a curriculum vitae or resume, and minimum of three supporting letters. Nominations may be sent to

Please refer to the Coblentz website for further details;


Previous Recipients

2007 Katherine Bakeev
2008 John C. Conboy
2009 Takeshi Hasagawa
2010 Boris Mizaikoff
2011 Michael W. George
2012 Duncan Graham - Spectroscopy Interview with Duncan Graham
2013 Rohit Bhargava - Spectroscopy Interview with Rhoit Bhargava
2014 Lynne S. Taylor -  Spectroscopy Interview with Lynne Taylor
2015 Ji-Xin Cheng - Spectroscopy Interview with Ji-Xin Cheng
2016 Karen Faulds